22 MHS Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

22 MHS Students Named National Merit Semifinalists
Posted on 09/29/2016

Mason High School celebrates the achievement of 22 of its students who were recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Competition for 2017.

Victoria Berry, Xindi Chen, Sneha Gundavarpu, Tanvi Jagtap, Aditya Jog, Mihir Kotian, Matthew Liao, Jose Martinez, Antonia Mordino, Zachary Oldham, Nihar Rama, Anamika Shah, Aditya Singh, Rujul Singh, Jessica Sommerville, Kayla Stroud, Dennis Sweeney, Sreeram Venkatarao, Oliver Voyten, Emily Wang, Jessica Wang, and Emily Zhao are all National Merit Semifinalists.  They are among the approximate 16,000 of the nation's top students, less than one percent of high school seniors nationally, who will go on to compete for the prestigious National Merit Scholarships. In February 2016, the Semifinalists will be notified whether they have advanced to Finalist standing. Corporate, college, and National Merit scholarships will then be awarded to finalists between April and July 2017.

MHS Principal Dave Hyatt congratulated the students on their accomplishment. “We’re extremely proud of these Mason High School students. They have made a huge impact on their teachers, on their classmates, and are poised to make a huge impact on the world. When I think about the future, I know that with students like these at the helm, we are in great hands.”

The students will be recognized by the Board of Education on October 25.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is a prestigious academic competition for recognition and scholarship that began in 1955.  High school students enter the National Merit Program as juniors by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test --a test which serves as an initial screen of more than 1.5 million entrants each year -- and by meeting additional program requirements.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.